TIGERS ON TOP

Have you ever heard the phrase “nothing good happens after 2 AM”? Well, I am here to tell you that is wrong because at 6:22 AM Tuesday morning (Paris time) CLEMSON OFFICIALLY WON THE NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP! It was a night/morning that I will never forget.

We found some random South African bar in the middle of Paris that was staying open for the entire game, so at midnight all 23 of us got on the metro before it closed and made our way there. A few of our friends that we made last week from other schools met us there and watched the entire game with us, props to them. The game started at 2 AM, and by halftime everyone looked like a zombie. We were all exhausted but there was no way we were going to leave before the game was over (partly because the metro didn’t open back up until 5:30 AM… but mostly because of school spirit). But by the fourth quarter, I felt like I could run a marathon. My blood was pumping and I was bouncing off the walls.

When the final pass was caught and we scored with 0:01 left on the clock, it was chaos. Everyone was crying, screaming, jumping up and down and hugging each other. I have never felt so happy in my entire life. We all screamed the cadence count one last time at the top of our lungs, sang the Alma Mater together, and I sat on the floor of the bar and cried while watching Dabo and Deshaun’s post game interviews. People say that their wedding day is the best day of their lives, but I really don’t know how anything could top this.

img_3834

We all look like complete messes, I don’t think there was a dry eye in the room.

After we had all partially composed ourselves, we started the trek back home. We rode the metro back with all of the people riding in early to work… that was an experience. I did not get into my bed until 8 AM, and my sleep schedule is all messed up again, but in the end, it was all worth it.

The tigers are back on top, we are officially National Champions, and I got to experience it all in the most unique and unforgettable way possible. Now excuse me while I sleep for two days straight. GO TIGERS AND ROLL TEARS ROLL!

 

2 thoughts on “TIGERS ON TOP

  1. Pingback: Abby is Abroad!

Leave a Reply

