Am I a Local Yet?

I have officially been living in Paris for over two months, how crazy is that? Time has been flying by, but the best part is I have 3 months to go! The greatest thing about studying abroad in Paris is that you will never run out of things to do in your own city. I feel like I have seen so much, yet I haven’t even scratched the surface of all the things Paris has to offer!

This weekend I got to show off my love for my new home to three of my best friends! Sydney, Sammi and Casey (the same Casey that I visited in Italy last month) all lived in my dorm freshman year and are still some of my closest friends, so this weekend was seriously one of the best yet. The only thing better than exploring Paris is getting to explore Paris with my best friends!

It was so much fun being a tourist in my own city for the weekend. On Friday, Sydney Sammi and Casey explored the champs-élysées and Arc de Triomphe while Ally and I were in class (until 5:50… ugh), but then we met up with them for dinner. It was Casey’s birthday, which called for lots of celebrating, so after dinner we met up with friends from my program at a bar in the Latin Quarter. It was so much fun being able to be with Casey on her birthday and spend time celebrating her in Europe! I never thought that would happen.

The rest of the weekend was a bit rainy, but that didn’t stop us from having fun! We ate at countless cafes, saw Notre Dame, went to the love lock bridge, climbed up to Sacre Coeur, bought books at Shakespeare and Co (I bought Les Miserables, wish me luck) and spent too many hours drinking coffee trying to stay warm (and dry). Saturday night the weather cleared up just in time for us to go to up the Eiffel Tower. It was my first time actually going to the top of the tower, and I am so glad I did it at night! The view was beautiful; there is truly nothing like the twinkling lights of Parisian streets. Sunday morning we went to the most amazing brunch spot in Montmartre called The Hardware Society. It was so cute and I had the most amazing fried brioche of my life. Nothing else will ever compare.

Overall, it was a great weekend and I had so much fun showing my best friends all around Paris! Exploring the city was great, but the best part was just being able to spend time with them after being apart for months. Some of my favorite memories from freshman year are just laying on the floor of Casey and Sydney’s room laughing until I cry, and it was so cool being able to make new memories with them in Paris!

Now that the weekend is over, I have to snap back into reality. Apparently, you do actually have to study during study abroad (who knew?) because I have a finance test on Tuesday and right now I’m not feeling too prepared. So for the next few days, it will just be me, my financial calculator, and Ed Sheeran’s new album. Wish me luck.

Disclaimer: it was too rainy for me to bring my camera out with me this weekend, so I only have a few low-quality phone shots 😦

img_4358

We didn’t let the rain ruin our day!

img_4390

Go friends go paris go tigers

img_4364

Birthday girl!

img_4332

Eiffel Tower views

One thought on “Am I a Local Yet?

Leave a Reply

