Spring has Sprung!

0S8A3051

I have always been more of a summer person but I think I have had a change of heart. I’m not sure if it was just a tease or if Paris is finally warming up, but Thursday was sunny and 65! We took full advantage of the weather and laid under the Eiffel Tower and read. I made some progress on Les Miserables so you could say it was a successful day. We stopped by the amazing Galleries Lafayette and did a little bit of shoe shopping on the way home.  If the rest of my time here is this weather, I truly will never want to leave!

Spring also means I actually have to start paying attention to basketball, because it is March Madness! We have a bracket challenge going on within my program, so you can always find a room full of people watching whatever game is on. I personally know absolutely nothing about basketball, but I still think it is fun to make a bracket and get competitive with friends and family! Plus, I’m the reigning champion in my family league, so I have a lot to live up to this season. Thankfully, I chose Arizona to win in my Clemson league, so not all hope is lost…yet.

The weather is perfect and March Madness is fun, but hands down the best part of Spring is Spring Break. I’m not even talking about myself going somewhere (I do that enough), I’m talking about my best friend/freshman roommate Lily coming and staying in Paris for Clemson’s spring break! Lily flew in super early Saturday morning (I’m talking 5 am early), so Ally and I went and picked her up at the airport at the crack of dawn! We were already out early so we headed to our favorite brunch place in Montmartre, The Hardware Societe, and drank as much coffee as humanly possible. We then took Lily to tour Sacre Coeur, visited the Wall of Love, and wandered around our favorite Montmartre streets. After, we strolled down the Champs-Elysses, stopping in our favorite stores (Laduree for macarons and Louis Vitton for absolutely nothing) and ended up at the Arc de Triumphe! We climbed to the top again, and I’ve decided that is my favorite view of Paris. You can see everything! There was also a HUGE French flag flying in the Arc which was really cool to see! For dinner, we ate at La Gazette, which was absolutely delicious! It is really close to the Arc but not touristy at all, I would highly recommend. After our stomachs were full we met some friends at a bar in the Latin Quarter, where we all huddled around Kasey’s phone and watched Villanova blow everyone’s brackets. The night ended with a Nutella crepe so you could say it was a great day.

We got a late start on Sunday, but still did lots! We got coffee at the Shakespeare and Co cafe and sat in the park right across the street. It is next to Notre Dame, so the people watching was phenomenal! We stopped by the Love Lock Bridge before heading to the one and only Eiffel Tower. We ended up spending over 4 hours there, just walking around, sitting on benches and catching up. It was fun seeing Paris with Lily, but the best part of the weekend was just hanging out with my best friend.

0S8A30430S8A29340S8A29660S8A29440S8A30080S8A3068

Also note: If you couldn’t tell from the pictures, it was not sunny and 65 all week but the weather has still been super nice, so I’m going to count it as the beginning of spring, even if I’m just a bit early.

 

 

Leave a Reply

