Mom, Dad, and Munich

0S8A3195

I have had a lot of people visit me in France recently, but last week my favorite visitors finally came to see me! That’s right, Mom and Dad came to Paris! After 3 months of being apart, I was more than ready for them to come visit and I had the greatest week ever with them. They recently celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary (goals), so this was a combined anniversary/see their favorite daughter trip for them. We made the most of our week together and explored Paris, Munich, and Salzburg! We did so many things in the short time they were here that I decided to split our week up into a few separate posts. First up: our weekend in Munich, Germany!

I didn’t know how I would feel about Germany, but from the moment we arrived, I fell in love with Munich! The buildings in the town square seemed like they were straight out of a storybook. There were clock towers everywhere (I was woken up by one at 7 AM our first morning) and old buildings covered in ivy. I was afraid Germany was going to be freezing, but it was warm and the sun was shining all weekend! Our Airbnb was amazing, a renovated 700-year-old church with a heck of a lot of character. It was right next to the city square and could not have been any better!

The first thing we did when we got to Germany was, you guessed it, go to a beer hall. We headed straight to the most famous and popular beer hall, Hofbrauhaus. This place is MASSIVE, and no trip to Munich is complete without ordering a giant liter of beer here. We were hungry from traveling all day, so we also got a soft pretzel the size of my face and tried our first genuine German sausage! There was a band playing, people laughing and screaming, and all around madness. It was great. After our beer/pretzel/sausage snack, we headed to dinner. Yep, you read that right. We all ordered authentic German dishes and ate until we couldn’t eat another bite.

The next day, we traveled right outside of Munich and toured Dachau Concentration Camp. This was one of the most humbling and shocking experiences of my entire life. Dachau was one of the first concentration camps and served as a model for all other camps across Europe. It is free to get into the concentration camp memorial site, but we paid for a guided tour and I learned so much. I thought I knew a lot about the Holocaust, but now I feel like I know nothing. Nothing will ever compare to the feeling of walking through the gas chamber of a concentration camp. The day was emotional, educational, and all around something that I will never forget.

When we got back to Munich we decided to cheer ourselves up and went to the English Garden! This is a huge park in the middle of the city; it was pretty much the German version of Central Park. My parents and I had such a great time wandering around. I forgot I was in the middle of Germany while I was there! Everything was so lush and green and the trees were beautiful. We walked to Monopterus, a monument on a hill in the middle of the park. The view from the top was amazing! It was the best way to end our time in Munich.

0S8A3101

“Work will set you free” The entrance to Dachau Concentration Camp

0S8A3110

The view down the center of Dachau

0S8A3115

Flowers left at the site of an old barrack in Dachau

0S8A3125

A memorial sculpture made by a survivor of Dachau

0S8A3143

My cute mom and dad!!!

0S8A3167

English Garden. I’m in love.

0S8A3209

Monopterus 

0S8A32210S8A3224

Keep a look out tomorrow for part 2: Salzburg, Austria!

One thought on “Mom, Dad, and Munich

Leave a Reply

