Salzburg, Austria

0S8A3295

After only 2 days in Munich, my parents and I packed up our stuff and headed to Salzburg, Austria! From the moment we arrived, I knew this would be my favorite place I had been so far. I have been to so many amazing cities, but nothing compares to the beauty of Austria.

We jumped right into things, and before we even went to our Airbnb, we got on a bus and went on the official Sound of Music tour! Julie Andrews filmed the Sound of Music in Salzburg, and we got to see so many of the sights from the movie! We saw the Von Trapp Villa, the lake that Maria and the kids flipped the canoe in, the famous 16 going on 17 gazebo, the church that Maria and Georg got married in, and all of the sights from the epic “Do-Re-Mi” song! All of the views were so beautiful and we had so much fun singing along to the soundtrack in our tour bus. If you ever find yourself in Austria, this tour is a must. Once we got back, we headed straight to the Mirabella Gardens and saw the beautiful flowers and ivy archways. Most of “Do-Re-Mi” was filmed here, so I had fun running around and thinking to myself “Julie Andrews stood here once”. We ended our day with a quick stop at a beer hall (when in Austria, am I right) and dinner at this great Italian restaurant, L’Osteria.

Once we got back, we headed straight to the Mirabell Gardens and saw the beautiful flowers and ivy archways. Most of “Do-Re-Mi” was filmed here, so I had fun running around and thinking to myself “Julie Andrews stood here once”. We ended our day with a quick stop at a beer hall (when in Austria, am I right) and dinner at this great Italian restaurant, L’Osteria.

Day two in Salzburg was spent exploring as much of the city as we could! We bought a Salzburg pass that got us into all of the museums and monuments for free, as well as allowed us to use their public transportation system, and it was the best decision ever! It paid for itself in no time at all. We first took a bus to the base of Untersburg mountain, where we took a 10-minute gondola ride to the peak!  The ride to the top would have been worth it in itself, but walking around the top of the mountain was amazing! We had the best view of Salzburg, and we were surrounded by snowy mountains. How dreamy is that? After exploring the peak for a while and grabbing a quick hot chocolate, we took the gondola back down and began looking for lunch. We found this cute place called Cook & Wine, where we sat outside in the sun and ate. The best part of the meal? They actually gave me ICE with my coke! I haven’t had a glass of ice in three months, so it was heavenly. After lunch, we accidently found Nonnberg Abbey, the actual abbey that Maria lived in! We then made our way up to Hohensalzburg Fortress, a huge white fortress that looks over all of Salzburg. It was cool to learn about its history and see another breathtaking view of such a beautiful city.

Our time in Salzburg ended with a trip across Mozart’s bridge, and dinner at a traditional Austrian restaurant. My only regret about my time in Salzburg is that we left so soon! I was surprised at how much there was to do there, I wish I could have stayed longer. Maybe I’ll learn German, get a job at Red Bull (which has its headquarters in Salzburg) and live here forever.

0S8A3240

The lake where SOM was filmed

0S8A3257

16 going on 17 gazebo

0S8A3265

the Von Trapp Villa

0S8A3274

0S8A3308

Inside the church where Maria and Georg were married

0S8A3318

0S8A3343

Mirabell Gardens

0S8A3368

0S8A3382

cutest

0S8A3418

Mirabell gardens

0S8A3430

View of the Fortress

0S8A3485

Untersberg Mountain

0S8A3508

View from the Fortress

0S8A3520

Mozart’s bridge

Part 3 coming tomorrow: Paris!

Leave a Reply

